Virat Kohli sets new India captaincy records after T20I series win in Australia

India tour of Australia: Virat Kohli became only the 2nd international captain after Faf du Plessis of South Africa to register series wins in all three formats in Australia. India sealed a 2-0 unbeatable lead in the ongoing 3-match T20I series.

Captain Virat Kohli sets new records in Australia after T20I series win (AP Photo)


  • Virat Kohli became the first India captain to win T20I series in all SENA countries
  • Kohli also the first India captain to register series wins in all 3 formats in Australia
  • India sealed an unbeatable 2-0 lead in the 3-match series after 2nd T20I win on Sunday

India extended their unbeaten run in T20I cricket to 10 matches as the Asian giants clinched an unbeatable 2-0 lead in the ongoing 3-match series against Australia. Since December 2019, Virat Kohli’s men have not lost a T20I match as they are asserting their dominance in the shortest format of the game.

Led by quickfire forties from Virat Kohli and Hardik Pandya and a fifty from Shikhar Dhawan, India chased down 195 against Australia in the 2nd T20I on Sunday in Sydney.

Captain Virat Kohli set a few new records as he became the first India captain to win T20I series in South Africa, England, New Zealand and Australia (SENA countries). MS Dhoni had led India to wins in South Africa and Australia but series victories had eluded him as skipper in England and New Zealand.

However, under Virat Kohli, India won T20I series in South Africa and England in 2018. Earlier this year, India registered 5-0 clean sweep against New Zealand in New Zealand. The win in the ongoing series in Australia helped the India skipper complete the quartet.

Virat Kohli asserting dominance in Australia

Also, Virat Kohli has become the first India captain and the second overall after Faf du Plessis to lead a team to series wins in all 3 formats in Australia. Kohli helped India to a historic Test series win in 2018-19 after which they registered an ODI series win as well.

India began the ongoing tour on a poor note conceding the ODI series in the first 2 matches but Kohli’s men have bounced back and stitched 3 successive wins Down Under. After sealing a consolation win in the ODI series, India have won the opening matches in the T20I series.

The visitors will be eyeing a clean sweep when they face Australia in the 3rd and final T20I in Sydney on Tuesday. India will look to continue the winning momentum into the all-important Test series, starting December 17. Virat Kohli wll feature only in the series opener, a day-night fixture in Adelaide as he is all set to return to India on paternity leave after the first Tet.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *