Big setback to BJP in Maharashtra as Maha Vikas Aghadi wins big in MLC elections

In a major setback to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) — the Nationalist Congress Party-Congress-Shiv Sena alliance — has won 4 out of 6 Graduates’ and Teachers’ constituencies of the Maharashtra Legislative Council.

While the BJP won Dhule- Nandurbar seat, the counting is still underway on one seat of Amravati, where the Independent candidate is currently leading.

Nationalist Congress Party’s (NCP) Arun Lad and Satish Chavan on Friday registered victory from Pune Division Graduates’ constituency and Aurangabad Division Graduates’ constituency respectively.

Earlier on Thursday, BJP’s Amrish Patel won bye-election to the Maharashtra Legislative Council (MLC) from Dhule-cum-Nandurbar Local Authorities’ Constituency 2020.

Meanwhile, Congress’s Jayant Dinkar Aasgavkar is leading comfortably in Pune Division Teachers’ constituency.

Congress candidate Abhijit Wanjari won Nagpur Division Graduates’ constituency, while Independent candidate Kiran Saranaik is ahead of his rivals in Amravati Division Teachers’ constituency.

NCP supremo Sharad Pawar called the MLC Election results as a stamp of approval on the one year of MVA government.

“The result is a big win for MVA. We have won the seat of Nagpur that was never with us. This result shows that people have believed in the work done by the MVA in last one year. A common man has accepted the new alliance,” Pawar told reporters.

MVA winning Nagpur Graduates seat is a huge setback to the BJP as it has been a BJP /Sangh stronghold for over 5 decades.

Devendra Fadnavis’s father Gangadharrao Fadnavis represented the seat twice for 12 years and Nitin Gadkari represented it for 25 years.

“These results are against our expectations. We worked hard. We fought against three parties together. Next time, we will work on where we tell short. We lacked in the registration of Voters. But one thing which must be noted is that the party that has CMs post hasn’t even got one seat,” Former CM and Leader of Opposition Devendra Fadnavis said.

The five seats of the Maharashtra Legislative Council that went to polls were Pune Division Graduates’ constituency, Nagpur Division Graduates’ constituency, Aurangabad Division Graduates’ constituency, Amravati Division Teachers’ constituency and Pune Division Teachers’ constituency.

Polling was also held on Tuesday for the Dhule-Nandurbar local bodies’ constituency bypoll, which was necessitated after sitting MLC Ambrish Patel quit the Congress to join the BJP.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *