Australia vs India: Ravindra Jadeja ruled out of T20I series due to concussion, Shardul Thakur named replacement

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja will take no further part in the ongoing T20I series against Australia due to concussion, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said on Friday. Jadeja suffered a blow to his helmet during the 1st T20I on Friday and was replaced by Yuzvendra Chahal who came in as a concussion substitute in Canberra.

Ravindra Jadeja will be replaced by fast bowler Shardul Thakur for the 2nd and 3rd T20Is, to be played in Sydney.

“The diagnosis was confirmed based on a clinical assessment in the dressing room during the innings break by the BCCI Medical Team,” the BCCI statement read.

1st T20I: Report | Highlights

“Jadeja remains under observation and will be taken for further scans if required based on the assessment on Saturday morning. He will not take any further part in the ongoing T20I series.”

Jadeja suffered a hamstring injury before he coped a blow on his helmet in the final over of India’s innings in the 1st T20I. Jadeja carried on to bat even as Team India physio’s did not check on him and went on to smash 44 not out from just 23 balls.

However, captain Virat Kohli confirmed after India’s 11-run win that Jadeja felt dizzy during the mid-inning break before he was taken for assessment by the BCCI medical team.

Jadeja did not take the field during Australia’s chase as Chahal came in as a concussion substitute before hurting Australia’s chances. Chahal finished with 3 wickets and won the Man of the Match award.

As batting great Sunil Gavaskar pointed out, there was noise around the concussion substitution. Australia head coach Justin Langer was seemingly unhappy with the substitution as he was seen having an animated discussion with match referee David Boon.

However, Australia captain Aaron Finch played down the controversy, saying he was not going to question the medical expert’s opinion.

India squad for T20I series (updated): India’s T20I squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), KL Rahul (VC & WK), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (WK), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan, Shardul Thakur.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *